[rev_slider alias='home-slide-1']

[vc_row type=”container” css=”.vc_custom_1519105861771{padding-top: 50px !important;padding-right: 50px !important;padding-bottom: 50px !important;padding-left: 50px !important;}”][vc_column width=”1/2″ css=”.vc_custom_1519105935520{padding-right: 50px !important;}”][vc_column_text]

School Bus Division

The School Bus Division has over 250 members. The majority of members are owner-drivers.
The division undertakes the following functions:

  • Assists with reviews of Government policy;
  • Undertakes the role of sector representative and advocate;
  • Assists in the implementation of policy, changes to government policy, contractual issues;
  • Acts as an Industry reference point;
  • Key industry stakeholder;
  • Strengthens commonality in the industry.

The School Bus Division has its own committee consisting of a Chairman, a Manager and a number of area representatives, who represent the following areas.

  • Kimberley, Pilbara, Gascoyne & Midwest
  • Perth
  • Wheatbelt
  • Peel
  • South West
  • Goldfields/Esperance, Great Southern

The orange school bus system has been operating in Western Australia on a dedicated contract basis since 1918. The service, which carries some 26,000 students over 145,000 kilometres per day, is underpinned by an excellent safety record, stability and reliability. It is highly valued by the many communities throughout WA that it services.

There are around 850 contracts in WA generally operated by small family businesses. Around 750 school bus contracts provide services for children attending mainstream schools and the remainder for children attending Education Support Facilities.

The orange school bus system is especially important to regional communities, where students cannot access regular public transport services and in many cases, their homes are a considerable distance from schools.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/2″][vc_column_text]

The Annual General Meeting of the School Bus Division is generally scheduled for July of each year. One of the functions of the AGM is to elect the Executive and Committee. At the AGM, the following were elected to lead the Division over the next 12 months;

Dennis Sutton (Chairman)
Ray Gannaway (Deputy)
Nat Muir
Mike Pilkington
John Ditchburn

School Bus Committee
Dennis Sutton (Chairman)
Nat Muir (Deputy Chairman)
Lloyd Shepherdson
Ray Gannaway
Ben Doolan
Ray Short
Emily Lally

The Manager is John Ditchburn who operates from the BusWA Office in Mandurah.

An application form to join BusWA in the School Bus Division can be obtained by ringing 0455 041 005 or by emailing johnd@buswa.com.au